Support the Haybalers!!

 

 

I wanted to share this with citizens of Hollister and surrounding areas.  Budget cuts have been severe throughout the country, and one of the areas where this is most felt is in our public schools.  In our small districts, our 4th grade classes now have about 40 students.  As always, it is extracurricular activities – the ones that build character, nurture confidence, develop talents, and provide success outside of academics – are the first to get cut.  This Saturday there is a fun and FREE fundraiser sponsored by Ford to raise money for the high school sports’ program.   Below is an excerpt from an email I received explaining it, as well as a poster advertising it.  Please consider attending to support our local schools and enjoy driving a fun car!

As many of you know, budget cuts to the Athletic Department at the high school have been drastic.  For the past four years, the Baler Backer Athletic Organization has been fundraising constantly to insure that we are still able to have sports at all levels at the high school.  We were able to raise enough money to insure that we have Freshmen sports this year.  However, it is a band-aid type of process.  We will need to keep raising money so that we can insure that we have sports at all levels next year and the year after, etc.

Tiffany Ford Motor Company has given us a great opportunity to raise money without selling a single thing.  We can raise up to $8000 by simply bringing in people to test drive brand new cars.  There is no pressure to buy a car and you will not receive follow-up e-mails or phone calls after the test drive.  It is simply a nation wide fundraiser that Ford does each year.  Last year, we only had 126 people take our test drive.  We were fortunate enough to make $2600, but the potential was there to make so much more. 

Please help us make this a successful event and also raise money for the kids.  As many of you know, I have been raising money for youth sports for many, many years now.  This will be my last fundraiser.  I would really personally appreciate it if you could all come out and support it.  It only takes about 5 minutes and we will have free food and drinks and a bouncy house for the kids.  So, on your way to shop at Target or Safeway stop by and say hi and drive a brand new car. 

 

SBHS Ford Fundraiser

 

 

 

About Thoughts by Sallie

I am a missionary kid who grew up in Mexico. I have 2 first languages. The two most amazing places that I have seen stars are in the Amazon rain forest and at the Sea of Galilee. I have moved 34 times in my life. I think that working with at-risk foster kids for 5 1/2 years is a greater accomplishment than earning a master's degree. My most favorite meal is popcorn, apples, and cheese. I am happiest when I am being hugged by a child. Jesus is my light and my salvation, whom shall I fear? My life's dream is to help children become more than they could ever imagine. I have Attention-Deficit Disorder, and I take medicine every day that helps me to think straight; it's not a cure, but it sure does help. I get lonely and feel very isolated sometimes. I love nostalgia. I HATE shallowness. I love taking pictures of windows. I am most proud when I see my friends grow and accomplish new things. I am most motivated by my love for and commitment to others. I am overflowing with thoughts. I am an ellipses. I am Rasha.

I really want to know what you think!!

